Mint Chocolate Macarons

   Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Today’s a fabulous day for those who love green such as myself. I baked these bright, shamrock-green, mint chocolate macarons to celebrate this occasion. In an attempt to make my macarons more festive than just coloring them green, I decided to try my hand at piping out shells in the shape of shamrocks. Unfortunately, my subpar piping skills were no match for the job. After piping out my nth pitiful, unrecognizable blob, I abandoned my dream of creating shamrock shelled macarons. Not being able to pipe out identifiable shamrocks wasn’t the only problem. From the excitement of the possibility in creating something other than circular shells, I had forgotten that these “shamrock” shells that I was piping out needed to be identical. I only realized this near the end of my dream. Then, feeling defiant, I tried to pipe out a few more in hopes that they’d look remotely similar. Nope.

So, I have here my unoriginally circular mint chocolate macarons. But they’re still yummy and come on, no one even remembers what shape this deliciousness was once it gets inhaled anyway.

mint-chocolate-macarons

Mint Chocolate Macarons

30-34 macaron shells; 15-17 completed macarons

Ingredients:

Macaron Shells

  • 50g egg whites
  • 105g powdered sugar
  • 65g almond meal/flour
  • 15g granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp mint extract
  • 1g dried egg white powder or 1/8 tsp cream of tartar
  • food coloring (gel or powder)

Chocolate Ganache (Click for the recipe)

Directions:
  1. Weigh out all ingredients & prep baking sheet with parchment paper or silpat (and macaron template).
  2. Blend almond meal and powdered sugar in a food processor, then sift.
  3. Mix the granulated sugar with the cream of tartar or dehydrated egg white powder and set aside for next part.
  4. Put eggs into mixing bowl and start beating at a low speed until you start to see “cappuccino foam”.
  5. Increase to medium speed and begin adding the granulated sugar mixture in a slow, steady stream over the next minute or so.
  6. After the sugar has been added, increase the speed to medium high and add the food coloring as well as the vanilla extract now. Continue beating until you reach medium-stiff peaks.
  7. Add half of the almond meal/powdered sugar mixture and fold it in. Then add the other half and make sure no dry pockets remain. Be careful not to overmix the batter.
  8. Transfer the batter in a pastry bag and pipe out onto the baking sheet.
  9. Lift pan and firmly bang it on a flat surface to get rid of any air bubbles.
  10. Pre-heat your oven to 300°F. While your oven preheats put your macarons aside to rest and form a thin layer. This usually takes anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour.
  11. Bake macarons for 16-19 minutes.
  12. Take macarons out of the oven and let it cool. Then match up the macaron shells in size.
  13. Spread the chocolate ganache on a shell and put together.

For a more extensive, in-depth guide on how to make macarons you can always check out my post here. It’s a highly detailed, step-by-step guide with visual aids.st-patricks-day-macarons-mintst-patricks-day-mint-chocolate-macaronsst-patricks-day-mint-chocolate-macarons-1

Published by

Iris

Macaron food blogger 🍴

3 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Macarons”

  1. I love your blog, your macarons and dessert posts are so beautiful and amazing! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

